Freecad design

I am new to 3d design. I need to print a box to hold a printer like the one in the picture.
Is this a big job in FreeCad. Needs top that opens

[ATTACH=JSON]{“alt”:“Click image for larger version Name: printer01.png Views: 0 Size: 32.7 KB ID: 6896”,“data-align”:“none”,“data-attachmentid”:“6896”,“data-size”:“full”,“title”:“printer.png”}[/ATTACH]

printer.png

printer01.png

You’d need to give more information about what it’s supposed to do, how it’s oriented, dimensions etc. also what kind of printer is that? For receipts or something? Maybe a napkin sketch at least of what it’s supposed to look like. I mean if it’s just a box with a lid, that’s pretty easy.

It’s a label printer. I was able to make the base in FC but now I get stumped when trying to make the lid for the base. Do I do it totally separate or in the same body.
Also the lid hinge holes will need to match.

This box is to mount a printer on a kiosk stand.

[ATTACH=JSON]{“alt”:“Click image for larger version Name: PB.png Views: 0 Size: 17.0 KB ID: 6925”,“data-align”:“none”,“data-attachmentid”:“6925”,“data-size”:“full”,“title”:“PB.png”}[/ATTACH]

Just need a lid like this
[ATTACH=JSON]{“data-align”:“none”,“data-size”:“full”,“title”:“Lid.png”,“data-attachmentid”:6927}[/ATTACH]

Lid.png

Well, you can do it one way and the other. The official way is to use separate bodies.

It is also a good idea to name all sketches and measurements, so you have them correctly. Since you know you need an axle, it is logical to work symmetrically on one axis.

It is not a must, but easier as you e.g. have the x axis as hinge and since you are centered, you can build both parts in separate bodies located and oriented at the same spot, which allows to see them in their final combined position.