First Start to Finish Project. FreeCad to Cura to Ender Pro 3

I am posting words of thanks to Dr. Vax and the forum members here. I am still very new to the whole 3D Printing Scene. I got my printer as most of us went into Social Distancing. I really think it has helped my mental health.
I have modified my printer, printed with different types of filament, and now have successfully modeled a part in FreeCad and printed it. I played the three videos on FreeCad over and over as I was ready to understand each tidbit of information.

My brother challenged me to make a stand he had picked out on Amazon for his WFH setup. Yes, he could have easily hit order and had the stand the next day, but he was patient and let me have a few days to see if I could make it. It is not exact. It doesn’t have moving parts like the Amazon stand, but because we knew the exact measurements of his laptop, I could custom make the part.
I also added some cable management and access to the bezel of the iPad for swiping up on the screen, which I considered an opportunity to improve on the original.

I already have two changes to make. I need to make a deeper pocket where the iPad sits to allow the lightning cable to come down into the cable channel. I am also going to make the cable channel narrower.

Again thanks for the support on this forum. We might be small in number, but we are mighty in service. :slight_smile:

m

Screen Shot 2020-09-04 at 10.58.11 AM.png

1 Like

Cool! :smiley:

This is the way to go!

Yes, the forum is small but it is intimate. A group of friends.

1 Like

Nice!!! Keep going!

I am not generally a fan of printing things I can buy, especially when they’re cheaper to buy. One of my prime exceptions to this is when the print is used as a learning experience, exactly as you have. Well done.

1 Like