lines in my prints.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• lines in my prints.

Hello everyone. And Thank Dr Vax for your channel and all the help. It is very helpful and you explain very well. Thanks.

I'm very new at this world. Trying to understand all tips we can find on the net and obviously on Dr Vax's channel. I think I succeed pretty good considering all the new stuff I learned in less than 2 weeks. But I obviously started too big I guess. But I wanted to created something from myself to give to my children for Christmas. So... I have no time to waste ;-)

OK, My equipment: Ender 3 V2 (updated to 1.0.2 firmware. It has the 4.2.2 board.
    I use freecad and Cura, and the walknet to bring the files in the ender 3.

The problem is happening only when I print using the print quality 0.16. It kind of shifting a few layers. I have read about it and it is often caused by temperature setting. I have to say that when I used 200C, I got a layer split. Now I'm up to 218. I dont have the split any more but I see that the problem persist. Also, I noted that the split is always aligned with an opening of the side. See the pictures....

With this print, the lines were aligned with the front opening. With a previous print, the lines were aligned with the opening on the right side. It is quite strange that the defect is aligned with the opening. I cannot figure out why. And only happening in quality 0.16. I didn't try 0.12 as it already take 14 hours to print... I want to finish before Christmas ;-)

Thanks for help

Welcome to the forum.

I'm not surprised you see lines that line up with a change in geometry of the print. I have seen it too. Now, I only started 3D printing in June, so I'm pretty new to it as well. If I'm not mistaken, what you're seeing is called ringing. You could try looking that up. I'm not sure what causes it, nor how much can be done to overcome it. I do gather that the type of 3D printer being used has something to do with it.