Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• prints popping off

Total noob to printing problems.
    What would be causing my prints to pop off the build plate? I've been trying to print off some heat towers with new filament. The tower keeps popping off the plate at around the 210-215 degree range. Friday I was 2/3 of the way into a 3 hour print when the model was pulled off the plate. Nothing like seeing a huge pile of filament around your model. Thanks in advance.

The temperature of the build plate matters. For PLA I use around 60°C, but this depends on the material you are using as print surface. Just keep in mind that the sensor is at the bottom and the print is on the top. There is usually around 5°C difference. Since I print on a 3mm glass plate, I set my temperature to 65°C and usually give the plate a little more.

Narrowing the nozzle to the build place can help, too.

Without knowing what surface and filament type you use, there is not much additional help I can provide yet.

Comment

Originally posted by Geit View Post
      ... Narrowing the nozzle to the build place can help, too. ...
      i.e., Z-offset; what do the undersides of those towers look like?

Originally posted by Geit View Post
      ... Without knowing what surface and filament type you use, there is not much additional help I can provide yet.
      As stated, details help! Material, temps, bed type, build plate adhesion settings and printing adhesives all affect part adhesion. Also, I ran into one temp tower STL that had a malformed base plate for the tower which caused me adhesion problems.

Cheers!

Comment

All of the responses so far plus, photos. They can help a lot. Make sure they are well lit, clear, and sharp.

Comment

I agree with Ender5r, a picture is worth a thousand words, or so it is said anyway. 😀

Comment

Well cleaned print surface is a absolute must too.
            I use isopropyl alcohol to clean my glasbed before every print. Never had adhesion problems