Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ender 5 Printing Issue

Hello All,

I am totally new to 3D printing, and got into to it to print things for my model railroad. I just acquired an Ender 5 as my first printer. The Dr. Vax test print seemed to print ok, but the squares have a lite cross-hatched pattern on them. I have leveled the bed with a piece of printer paper. When I print anything else, the print head would run across the top of the object being printed. At first I thought it was over extrusion, and re-calibrated the eSteps. That didn't resolve the issue, so I started playing with Z hop and Retraction, as well as print temp. these are the best two print. BTW, I am using the Creality PLA that came with the printer.

Any suggestions?

Thank you,

Doug Larimore

Welcome to the craft of 3D printing! What slicer are you using and what is combing set to? The test print picture is a bit fuzzy, but printing too close to the bed can cause nozzle clogs and extruder motor stepper skipping which could result in the prints in the other two images. Z-wobble could as well. So, if the printer is extruding ok and you don't observe skipping, some things to check as your printer is new:
    • That the bolts and screws that connect your extruder and hotend to your printer are tight.
    • For rattling in the X-axis carriage.
    • For wobble in your print bed including replacing any bearings and tightening all harnesses.
    • Check that both the X and Y-axis belts have zero droop.
    • Make sure the Z-axis rod is not bent.
    Ender5r

Hope this helps! Hopefully, Ender5r and others who own that machine can weigh in too.

Cheers

Comment

In addition to the things Alan mentioned: