Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ender 5 Pro Woes

Greetings Everyone,

I am a complete newbie when it comes to 3D Printing. I just bought my first printer, the Ender 5 Pro. I assembled it yesterday and I am having a rough time getting off the ground, so to speak. I have uploaded pictures of my 2 attempts thus far.

I did some research, and asked elsewhere, and it appears I may be the victim of some bad firmware settings. Apparently I could be affected by a failure of Creality quality control. I am told I need to change the steps on the z axis from 400 to 800.

Trouble is, I do not know how to go about this exactly. I come from a technical background, so firmware flashing is not at all a new concept to me. I just need a little step-by-step guidance on how to fix this.

Thanks in advance for your time and assistance.

-Rob

You've come to the right place my friend because, I too, have a technical background, and I got my Ender 5 Pro in May! I have suffered the same issues as you, and more.😀
    First, please see this thread: https://forum.drvax.com/forum/3d-pri...-issue-warning. That thread also makes reference to this one: https://forum.drvax.com/forum/3d-pri...ilt-bootloader.

As you'll read in the second link, I flashed the mobo with TH3D firmware (https://th3dstudio.zendesk.com/hc/en...rmware-Package). I recommend it. Everything you need is in the package from TH3D. The process is really pretty simple. Just remember, when in the Arduino IDE they mention clicking the arrow at the top left, they mean the one pointing to the right. Oh, BTW, it's completely free.
    And, yes, you do have to change the Z stepper value from 400 to 800 (I have several squashed looking 3D Benchys to prove it). This can be done interactively by issuing G-code commands from a terminal app such as Pronterface (search it: you'll have no trouble locating it). You'll need to issue an M92 Z800 (to change the Z stepper value), followed by a M500 (to store the value in NVRAM).